WHAT I ATE: burgers and salads, oh my!

I should be practicing a little frugality, but it is extremely hard when there are so many delicious places to eat at. Here are a few noteworthy things I ate recently…

StreetSoul Burger Bar, Randwick

nacho-style fries

The Spot holds a place in my heart as the place to go for cheap films, but over the past month or so, it’s also been a default last-minute dinner destination because it’s filled with some serious restaurant gems. My most recent discovery is StreetSoul Burger Bar, because I love a good burger, and am always on the lookout for a new favourite place. StreetSoul is local, is open til fairly late, and offers a decent variety of burgers and fries — case in point, the nacho-style fries. This combines nacho toppings (guac, sour cream, and cheese) with perfectly-cooked fries to create what is essentially a Mexican poutine. Brilliant.

mushroom madness

I opted for a vegetarian burger and got Mushroom Madness, because friggin’ mushrooms! It had a rosemary-seasoned whole field mushroom, baby cos lettuce, tomatoes, spanish onions, mayo, pesto, red peppers and grilled haloumi. Seriously.

The Grounds of Alexandria

soy flat white empty

The Grounds of Alexandria has been on my list for a while, and after an impromptu visit, it’s not hard to see why. We dropped by at around midday, and the place was bustling — there was a decent line for take-away orders, and all the tables were taken, so there was the beginning of a line for sit-in diners. Thankfully we didn’t have to wait too long to be seated (it was windy as heck), but the food is definitely worth standing around for a while.

kale and baby beetroot

I am still at a loss on where to find kale in Sydney. A girl I met at a dinner party told me that it could readily be found in the salad section of Woolworths or Coles, but I have been to several stores in different suburbs and have yet to find any. Last year I did find a bag of washed baby kale in my local Woolworths, but since then it has unicorned itself.

In the meantime, I’ll have to get my fix at The Grounds — their kale and baby beetroot salad is drizzled with a lemon-yoghurt dressing that is a little too citrusy for my tastes, but is still delicious and filling.

fries and chilli aioliAnd I am a sucker for fries and aioli, so obviously I had to get this side-dish. The fries were accompanied by chili aioli, which is what clinched it for me. They did not disappoint.

So while my wallet may be a little disappointed in me, my stomach certainly isn’t. Hey, maybe if someone tells me where I can get some fresh kale, I’ll stop eating out so much

(no

that’s a lie

but please tell me).

Leave a Reply

