Bavarian Bier Schnitzel Challenge

So the other day, as promised in my last post, I completed the Giant Schnitzel + Schnapps Challenge held every Tuesday at the Bavarian Bier Cafe. You eat an entire “giant” schnitzel, you get free schnapps; it’s a pretty sweet deal. The reaction I got from most people when I mention that I took on the challenge was mostly shock and sometimes admiration: “how big was the schnitzel?” “that’s amazing!” “oh wow” etc.

Full disclosure: the schnitzel is not that big. I mean, it’s a big schnitzel, but not unfinishably-big. If you enjoy consuming food, you will have no problem completing the “Giant” Schnitzel + Schnapps Challenge. Seriously, like, eight other people did the challenge that night, YOU CAN, TOO!

the schnitzel, in all its glory

I ate it all, like a boss!

I don’t really have anything else to say about this. I ate a schnitzel, it was delicious. The aioli was really excellent; I have only recently understood the culinary delight that is aioli, because for most of my life I’ve just really disliked mayonnaise, and now I eat it at every possible chance.

But oh! There is one tiny thing I will say, and it’s that eating the schnitzel is a competition of volume, not speed. It matters not who finishes first, but that you finish. I ruminated this as I sat, choking slightly on my food because I tried to eat the schnitzel super fast, swallowing without chewing, which resulted in a schnitzel traffic-jam in my oesophagus. Yes, it is as unpleasant as it sounds.

Victory Schnapps!

Delicious Bier

Obviously, a trip to the Bavarian Bier Cafe wouldn’t be complete without drinks, so! The top picture is of the schnapps Kyri and I earned after eating our schnitzels. Kyri got the sour apple, and I got the peach. Guys: do not get the sour apple schnapps! It’s not very nice!

Later I got 500mLs of Lowenbrau Original, and I don’t know very much about beer, but I enjoyed it thoroughly. The Bavarian Bier Cafe is a really lovely place to drink, and I fully intend to get very drunk there at some point in the near future. Yeah, I’m a classy lady.

2 thoughts on “Bavarian Bier Schnitzel Challenge

  1. Samme

    I happen to looooove sour apple schnapps 😦 😦 😦

    Alsooooooooo, I love my food, but I can’t do just fried stuff so this was a super struggle! 😦 😦 😦

    Super approval of your blog, but disapproval on this post because it makes me sound like a horrible weakling 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

